Submit a Testimonial

Your input is important to us. Please provide your valuable feedback. Here are some testimonials from our clients:

Hello Vern,
Just wanted to say hello and tell you that I was hooked on Floats as soon as you signed my logbook in July of '08 with a ASES. Now I have my commercial sea rating and have been flying this Maule 235 amphib all summer on Lake Powell in AZ. I dont think there is more fun to be had flying than in a floatplane and BIG thanks to you and Darlene for training me to do something I love and now will continue to do forever. I would love to come visit again and fly with you to be critiqued by the best...there is always more to learn and improve on.
Thanks for the introductiion to "floats", it has really boosted the Fun in my life!!
Brian Price
Page, AZ
 
Date of Posting: 02 November 2012
Posted By: Brian Price
Commercial ASES, KPGA
Brianspaintandbody.net
This is the "stick and rudder" course you've never had, but need.
 
Date of Posting: 28 December 2010
Posted By: Chris P
Idaho
Vern is great. The CFIs are great. The Super Cubs are great. But these lakes are something else. Wow! What an experience. I could have only had that here.
 
Date of Posting: 28 December 2010
Posted By: Jim
As a 25 year Air Force fighter pilot, air show pilot and general aviation pilot I cannot agree more with your approach and lessons from this first news letter.
 
Date of Posting: 14 December 2006
Posted By: Major Jon C.
Korea
I fly a Cirrus and had it in the NC mountains this weekend. Thanks to you guys I was hugging the mountain on the side with the up draft with plenty of room to turn.
 
Date of Posting: 23 November 2006
Posted By: Ben T.
North Carolina
Thank's again for the great experience!!!!!!

 
Date of Posting: 17 September 2006
Posted By: John M. J.
Minnesota
I had just three days here, but they are as big and memorable as many a three-year period of my life. Skills I learned with Alaska Float Ratings have taken me on to acrobatic flying and to appreciate that regular ongoing training is the best insurance to safe flying. Those who have been in a flight emergency are the same who say training is the reason why we walked away from it. Alaska Float Ratings makes training fun, challenging and exciting.
 
Date of Posting: 09 April 2006
Posted By: Steve W.
I vividly remember a moment when you and I were standing at the edge of your floating dock before I went up. As I was (and still consider myself) newly certified SES pilot, you said something to the effect of, the VERY first thing you want to do, before preflight, is to know the wind. Direction, speed and the way it will move in relation to your environment. I'm happy to say that I ask myself that regardless of what I am flying and where.
 
Date of Posting: 19 February 2006
Posted By: Bob R.
New York
Just want to thank you again for the great time I had at your place this past week & to thank you for letting me do it "my way". It couldn't have been more perfect for me, doing three hours or so of the basics with your instructors (all great guys by the way) & then that incredible 3hr+ flight in the mountains with Vern which put it all in perspective for me.
 
Date of Posting: 04 October 2003
Posted By: Cass S.
Florida
My favorite place was a little lake in a glacial cirque without a name on the map. They call it Will's lake after Will who was the first to land there. He showed it to me and Shana and politely asked if I wanted him to talk me through the landing or have him demonstrate the landing to me. Will explained that because of the head wall of the cirque, we could only land with calm conditions or a slight tailwind up canyon to be able to take off into the wind down canyon. It is one of those one-way in, one-way (the way you came) out places. After we did the first pass to check the winds and I got a close look, I told Will I would prefer to have him demonstrate the landing and then I would do the takeoff. ;-)

Attached is a picture out the front as we turned onto short final. You can see why a go-around is not a good idea. Also, notice the altimeter and look at the landscape!
 
Date of Posting: 15 July 2003
Posted By: Butch W.
Colorado
" What a beautiful setting for flying floats while getting current and earning Sea Wings!"
 
Date of Posting: 30 November 1998
Posted By: Marie B., 1999
Submit A Testimonial
* fields are mandatory.
Your Name:*
Email Address:*
About You:
Your Location:
Your Website:
Your Picture:
Images should not be larger than 500x500 px and 250 kb
Security Code:
Enter Code Here:*
Send us your comments below:*
Powered by RS Web Solutions

What Our Students Say